Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame 2019 shortlist revealed


The Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame has revealed its shortlist for 2019, with fans being urged to vote for their favourites.

Stevie Nicks, Def Leppard, The Cure, Radiohead and Janet Jackson all make the cut, along with Kraftwerk, Rage Against The Machine and LL Cool J.

Devo, John Prine, MC5, Roxy Music, Todd Rundgren, Rufus and Chaka Khan, and The Zombies make up the final list of nominees.

The artists have been chosen by the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame Foundation's nominating committee.

Who would you vote for?

How does it work?

Now the shortlisted artists have been chosen, ballots are sent to more than 1,000 historians, members of the music industry and artists – including every living Rock Hall inductee – and the five performers receiving the most votes will become the class of 2019.

Since 2012, fans have also been given the chance to cast their vote. The top five in the public poll forms one ballot, which is weighted the same as the rest of the submitted ballots.

What makes an artist eligible?

Performers, composers and musicians-become eligible for induction 25 years after the release of their first commercial recording – which is why it takes so long for some artists to be included.

Organisers say that "besides demonstrating unquestionable musical excellence and talent, inductees will have had a significant impact on the development, evolution and preservation of rock & roll".

More from Ents & Arts

Which other artists have made the cut?

Bon Jovi, Dire Straits, Nina Simone, The Moody Blues and The Cars were the five artists making up the class of 2018. More than 200 artists have been added over the years, with everyone from ABBA, AC/DC and Aerosmith to Yes and ZZ Top featuring.

Notable snubs

There's quite a few! Depeche Mode, Ozzy Osbourne (as a solo artist), Whitney Houston, Motorhead, The Smashing Pumpkins, Willie Nelson, Pixies, Tina Turner, Iron Maiden, T Rex, The Smiths… the list goes on.

Original Article


Sky News


Leave a Reply